Boston Matrix 

Mary Jo Foley also refers to Microsoft Program Manager J.D. Meier’s blog post entitled ‘Love your Dogs’. The ‘dogs’ refer to the classic ‘quadrant’ in the infamous Boston Matrix by the Boston Consulting Group which segments business by the two dimensions of (a) Market Growth, and (b) Market Share. The conventional wisdom is perhaps most obvious for the ‘dogs’ which is to divest, shed or ‘kill’ (see above) them. But J.D. takes a different more embracing slant…

“From a dog and star standpoint, I like to count on my stars, but I experiment with a lot of dogs, since the rate of failure is pretty high, but it’s the future of the dogs that help me stay adaptable over getting overly adapted.  Put it another way, what got me here today, won’t get me there tomorrow.”

