Don't Tread on Me

 

America celebrates 237 years of the American Dream today. A dream that has endured the division of Civil War and the desperation of Depression. But a dream that continues to inspire and draw the “poor, huddled masses” from around the globe. That dream can be knocked down, but it always gets up again like the towering new One World Trade Centre. It is this American spirit that William Butler Yates captures in his poem “Cloths of Heaven”


  • Had I the heavens’ embroidered cloths,
    Enwrought with golden and silver light,
    The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
    O
    f night and light and the half-light,
    I would spread the cloths under your feet:
    But I, being poor, have only my dreams;
    I have spread my dreams under your feet;
    Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Happy Birthday to the American Dream.

