Dont Know curve

 

“I didn’t spend a lifetime wresting myself free of one set of infallible dogmas to embrace another.” – Chet Raymo, “Sorta

As Chet, the doyen of doubt, also describes in is post “Yet”, knowledge starts with an embrace of ignorance, and reverence with humility…

A willingness to say ‘I don’t know, it’s all very complicated.’ Where did the universe come from? ‘I don’t know, it’s all very complicated.’ Why are the laws of nature what they are? ‘I don’t know, it’s all very complicated.’ How did life begin? ‘I don’t know, it’s all very complicated.’ What is self-awareness? ‘I don’t know, it’s all very complicated.’ What is the meaning of it all? "I don’t know, it’s all very complicated." We are naturalists in that we don’t populate the picture with imaginary anthropomorphic spirits who intervene at will in the course of events. We are religious in that we respond to the world with awe, reverence, and gratitude. To whom or what are we grateful? ‘I don’t know, it’s all very complicated.’"

The open-minded child says “Why?…Why?…Why?” The open-minded adult says “I don’t know…I don’t know…I don’t know.”

