A song echoing the sentiments of ‘The Race’ itself emerged into the inspirational words concluding the historic Obama victory – ‘Pick Yourself Up’ from the 1936 Fred Astaire film ‘Swing Time’.  The video above is a Diana Krall version since the clip from the film has now been removed from YouTube.

In its Obama Inauguration coverage, the Sunday Times noted the allusion in his line “Starting from today, we must pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off, and begin again the work of remaking America.”

“Pick yourself up, take a deep breath, dust yourself off
And start all over again, nothing’s impossible I have found
For when my chin is on the ground, I pick myself up
Dust myself up, and start all over again
Don’t lose your confidence if you slip
Be grateful for a pleasant trip, just pick yourself up and dust yourself off
And start all over again,
Work like a soul inspired, til’ the battle of the day is won.
You may be sick and tired, but you’ll be a man my son.
Will you remember the famous men, who had to fall to rise again?
So take a deep breath, pick yourself up, dust yourself off and start again.”

