Iranian journalist Maziar Bahari was imprisoned for 18 months for among other things charges of spying based on a fake interview in which he participated for the top US comedy programme ‘The Daily Show’. Was he bitter? Did he want begrudge Jon Stewart whose ribald complicity left him tortured and abused. Not in the least. He didn’t even harbour deep ill will to his captor, interrogator and jailer from the Revolutionary Guard. This clip on the Daily Show website tells his intriguing story as well as his perspective on turning the tragic adversity to advantage…

“It’s evil and stupid. You know whenever you take anything to the extremes, you see the humour in it and you see the stupidity in it and I think what the Iranian government did and my interrogator as representative of the Iranian government was to me stupid and funny at the same time. It was not funny when I was in the interrogation room blindfolded, in a dark room, being beaten…you know that was not funny. But going back to my cell, I had to laugh. You know that was my defensive mechanism…You know my interrogator for some reason after some time became my muse, he became my muse. He gave me ideas. He was so exaggerated in everything that he did, he just gave me ideas. I just laughed.” 

