Sandra Bullock Success

Sandra Bullock won my applause more for her ‘Raspberry’ performance than for her ‘Oscar’. Last month’s ‘Success’ magazine features an interview with her that provides more reinforcement and colourful detail to just how much she embraces the positive outlook in the face of failure. Uprooting, being bullied, ‘frumpy’ clothes, speech impediment…she embraced them all.

“As the daughter of German Opera singer and voice teacher, Sandra spent her time travelling back and forth between the U.S. and Germany. Her time in the U.S. was one of torment and bullying. Her peers teased her because she wore “frumpy” German-made clothes and suffered from a lisp. Although, there was pressure to “be normal,” Sandra was taught to embrace her special qualities, which she thanked her mother for in her Oscar acceptance speech. Sandra says, ‘I’ve made peace with the fact that the things that I thought were weaknesses or flaws were just me, and I like them.’ ”

