Oprah - The Woman Who Fell To Earth

 

The legendary Oprah finished her transformative television show yesterday after 25 years of insight, inspiration and entertainment to billions. Seen as one of the most successful business women of all time, she would be the first to advocate and role model embracing failure. Despite her historic success, she has suffered failure with weight control, family, business, and a whole host of issues that she courageously shared wither family of views.

In fact, her magazine ‘O’ focused entirely on embracing failure by Martha Beck, life coach and writer. Some excerpted gems to get you going…

“To fail is divine – Martha Beck has repeatedly, and she has nothing to show for it except freedom, serenity and a surefire recipe for success.”

 

(Describing a drawing class) “Oh, how I hated that damn pen! It drew a stark black line of unvarying thickness, making all of my faboo pencil techniques impossible. You’d think my teacher would’ve been helpful, or at least forgiving. But no. He’d glance at my awkward ink drawings, groan, ‘Oh, God,’ and walk away holding his head in his hands…A few weeks later…without my intention, my hand started dancing with that horrible pen. Together they began making odd marks: hatches, overlapping circles, patches of stippling. The next drawing I completed won a juried art show. ‘How did you figure out a drafting pen could do this?’ one of the judges asked me. ‘I failed,’ I told them. ‘Over and over again.’”

 

“’Success is as dangerous as failure,’ said Lao-tzu…Dwelling on failure can make us miserable, but dwelling on success can make us galley slaves, bound to our wretched benches solely by the thought, I hate this, but at least I’m good at it.’”

 

And especially, a poem from Antonio Machado…

Last night as I was sleeping

I dreamt – marvellous error! –

that I had a beehive

here inside my heart.

And the golden bees

were making white combs

and sweet honey

from my old failures

 

Congrats and thanks, Oprah.

