If I had never dropped out, I would never have dropped in on that calligraphy class.” – Steve Jobs

Not just speaking of commencements, but speaking of commencement speaking, to get a personal view on this failure embracing ethos, listen to Steve Jobs speaking this year at Stanford’s Commencement above.

“What was the focus of my entire adult life was gone…I was a very public failure…I didn’t see it then, but turned out that getting fired from Apple was the best thing that could ever happen to me. The heaviness of being successful was replaced by the lightness of being a beginner again…It freed me to enter one of the most creative periods of my life.”

That’s what ‘Commencement’ is all about…’Beginning’. And its hard to think of a more historic ‘Beginner’ who helped start a revolution, started an iconic brand and company, and started his own life over again after a ‘very public failure’.

