Dilbert - Day Dreaming

Not just dreams, but dreaming leads to happiness as BNET covered in its piece ‘5 Scientifically Proven Ways to Be Happier’.

“#3. Day dream, or, as the researchers say, enjoy the experience without spending the time. As counterintuitive as it may seem, research has shown that the part of the brain responsible for feeling pleasure can be activated just by thinking about something pleasurable. And we often enjoy the anticipation of something pleasurable more than the actual experience that we think is going to be so great. The most common example is vacation planning, which some find more pleasurable than the vacation itself.”

This insight actually highlights another of the motivations for my volunteer work on Maldives Complete. When I sit down to the computer on a cold, damp, grey English day, and I bring up images of Maldivian spendour that some resort has forwarded to me, I am transported back to that sun-drenched paradise in my mind.

