Tim Harford

 

Tim’s Harford’s TED lecture on ‘Trial, Error and the God Complex’ that I reviewed yesterday, also had a statement about the ideal leader from Harford’s perspective. He is looking for a bold political leader to step forward in the following way…

“[A] politician stands up campaigning for elected office and says, ‘Now, I want to fix our health system. I want to fix our education system. I have no idea how to do it. I’ve got a half a dozen ideas. We’re going to test them out. They’ll probably all fail. Then we’ll test some other ideas. We’ll find some that work. We’ll build on those.”

Leaders have a ‘half a dozen ideas’; Managers admit they have ‘no idea how to fix things’. Together they test the ideas, prepared for failure, until they find some that work and build on those.

