In the after glow of possibly the best Grammy Awards of all time, I present the nominees for the best embrace of failure in song.

Past musical honorees in this blog include…

This post’s selections include…

I’ve been a puppet, a pauper, a pirate, a poet, a pawn and a king.
I’ve been up and down and over and out and I know one thing.
Each time I find myself flat on my face.
I pick myself up and get back in the race.

I get knocked down

But I get up again

You’re never going to keep me down

She’s starting to live her life

From the inside out

The sound of failure calls her name

She’s decided to hear it out

Standing there in the graveyard

While the moon sprays its fireworks in your hair

The sound of failure calls her name

She’s decided to hear it out

You got to learn how to fall.

Before you learn to fly.

And mama, mama it ain’t no lie.

Before you learn to fly.

Learn how to fall.

But, the winner would have to be Lady Gaga’s “Judas” from her Grammy nominated ‘Born This Way’. She revealed in an interview…

  • “’Judas’ is a metaphor and an analogy about forgiveness and betrayal and things that haunt you in your life and how I believe that it’s the darkness in your life that ultimately shines and illuminates the greater light that you have upon you. Someone once said to me, ‘If you have no shadows then you’re not standing in the light.’ So the song is about washing the feet of both good and evil and understanding and forgiving the demons from your past in order to move into the greatness of your future.’ Gaga added to the song’s meaning as honoring one’s inner darkness in order to bring themselves into the light.”

As it happens, another song on that album, . “Marry the Night,!” also embraces failure drawing its inspiration from being dropped by her very first record label. Hmmm…oops, Mr. Producer. No one is immune, but the stars turn it to advantage.

