Socrates

 

  • “Here the question seems to be, ‘Should the world be understood via holism or via reductionism?’ And the answer of ‘MU’ here rejects the premises of the question which are that one or the other must be chosen. By unasking the question, it reveals a wider truth.” – Achilles to the Tortoise in ‘Godel, Escher, Bach’.

Godel, Escher, Bach’ explores a number of ‘Zeno’s Paradoxes’ and in fact the two main characters of the book are taken from the most famous paradox, Achilles and the Tortoise. This paradox is often credited with being the source of the Socrates’ dialectic. And Socrates is the father of Scepticism which is the philosophical foundation to the embrace of failure. If Godel’s Incompleteness Theorem is the ultimate philosophical theorem embracing failure, then the ultimate philosophical movement, as has been explored extensively here, would be Scepticism.

  • “I cannot give birth to wisdom myself and the accusation that many make against me, that while I question others, I myself bring nothing wise to light due to my lack of wisdom, is accurate. The reason for this is as follows: God forces me to serve as a midwife and prevents me from giving birth” – Socrates

The classic component of the ‘Socratic Method’ was asking questions. But questions were the means not the ends. As Hofstadter articulates through Achilles at top, even the questions are fair game for being questioned.

