Gapingvoid - Great Exposure

 

Today’s return celebration of Seth-urday is his post on embracing the failure to do everything titled ‘No.’

  • No, we don’t take clients like that.
    No, that’s not part of what we offer.
    No, that market is too hard for us to service properly.
    No, I won’t bend on this principle.
    No, I’m sorry, I won’t be able to have lunch with you.
    No, that’s not good enough. Will you please do it again?
    No, I’m not willing to lose my focus, and no, I’m not willing to compromise.

Fellow digerati maven Hugh McLeod echoes these sentiments in his post ‘Exposure’

  • “Next time you’re in a meeting and everyone is saying ‘yes’ to an obviously dumb idea, know that just because there are lots of them it doesn’t make it right. Find those cojones and Step Up.”

So many business gurus give you lots of models, recipes, action plans, 10 steps, etc. to tell you what to do, so it is refreshing to have some exhorting what *Not* to do.

Embrace the failure of doing something for the sake of doing it.

 

No button

