President Obama Full DNC Acceptance Speech 2012

  

If President Obama’s ‘Leadership and Management’ qualities weren’t enough for this Leadership and Management blog to applaud him, his embrace of failure and all of the positive qualities that go with it, certain call for an ovation here. Yes, I know many cynics and opposition would like to pounce on this ostensible confession, but they are missing the whole point…

  • “If the critics are right that I’ve made all my decisions based on polls, then I must not be very good at reading them. And while I’m very proud of what we’ve achieved together, I’m far more mindful of my own failings, knowing exactly what Lincoln meant when he said, “I have been driven to my knees many times by the overwhelming conviction that I had no place else to go. But as I stand here tonight, I have never been more hopeful about America. Not because I think I have all the answers. Not because I’m naive about the magnitude of our challenges. I’m hopeful because of you.”

In contrast, while some of the very first words out of his mouth were ‘with humility’, Mitt Romney’s speech only mentioned ‘fail’ 4 times and none of them in reference to himself.

