dancing in the rain

 

Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass…It’s about learning to dance in the rain.” – Vivian Greene

As 2012 comes to a close, it is a time for reflection on this loop around the sun. Top 10 lists and ‘Year in Review’ pieces abound. As you draft your first New Year’s Resolutions, I encourage you to add “Make more mistakes.” ‘Six’ at least according to the pastor at our church Rev. Patrick T. O’Neill as he argues in his sermon "Six Mistakes (at least)"

  • “A few years back, a delightful Unitarian Universalist woman from Louisville, Kentucky was asked, at age 85: if she had her life to live over again, what would she do differently.  Her name was Nadine Stair…It reads: ‘If I had my life to live over again, I would dare to make more mistakes.  I’d relax.  I would limber up.  I would be sillier than I have been on this trip.  I would take fewer things seriously.  I would take more trips.  I would climb more mountains and swim more rivers.  I would eat more ice cream and less beans.  I would perhaps have more actual troubles, but I’d have fewer imaginary ones.’”

May you dance exaltedly in each and every puddle of deficiency!

