• No one else could tolerate me so if I wanted to dance I was going to have to make up my own dancesPeople often come to me and say ‘I know nothing about dancing’. I saw stop right there, you got up and you’re walking…you’re an expert.” – Twyla Tharp

Twyla Tharp celebrates her 72nd birthday day. She smashed innovation and dance together like a large hadron collider and created particles of movement previously unseen in the dance universe. And a key component was her embrace of failure, as Tim Harford describes in his book, Adapt

  • “Twyla Tharp makes a point of failing in private every day…She films 3 hours of improvisation and is pleased enough if she can find 30 seconds that she can use…In a radically different context, Tharp’s approach follows Peter Palchinsky’s principles.”
