Katherine Grainger medal

 

As God is my witness…” – Scarlett O’Hara

Fellow Marlow Rowing Club rower Katherine Grainger has overcome her share of pain, boredom, competition, disappointment, foul weather and very likely leaky boats. But, none of it stood in the way from her “Scarlett O’Hara Moment” resolve. Her in the Sunday Times, titled “Thrown right out of the boat” (not available online for some reason) highlighted her less than auspicious start to her now illustrious career…

  • “She was named as a member of the fifth boat – the so-called ‘remedial’ boat, for people who showed no real ability. ‘I was really upset. I was angry at myself, as well as frustrated, disappointed and embarrassed.’…A year later, however, that keen novice faced having her hopes and dreams dashed. ‘I didn’t know what to do with myself, so I stomped off into the night and made my way up to Arthur’s Seat’ Grainger says of what she calls her ‘Scarlett O’Hara’ moment’. At the top of the hill, with tears in her eyes, Grainger vowed that she would work hard and one day become the great rower she suddenly realised she longed to be.”
