This post is for Isley (who celebrates her birthday today) and from her. An accomplished writer with a fair share of poetry slams success under her belt. We share a lot including our fondness for Louis C.K. and this rant against the escapism of cell phones. How whenever you feel sad or lonely, you pull out the phone for a fix. His alternative therapy is just embracing the sadness…

  • “Is started to get that sad feeling and I was reaching for the phone and I thought ‘you know what…don’t’. Just be sad. Just let the sadness…just stand in the way of it…and let it hit you like a truck. And I let it come and Bruce [Springsteen] [sang], and I started to just feel ‘Oh, my God.’ And I pulled over. And I just cried…like a bitch. I cried so much. And it was beautiful. It was like this beautiful moment. Sadness is poetic. You are lucky to live sad moments. And then I had happy feeling because when you let yourself feel sad, your body has like antibodies…it has like happiness that comes. Rushing in to meet the sadness. So I was grateful to feel sad. And then I met it with true profound happiness.”

(thanks and Happy Birthday Isley)

