• “Out of the huts of history’s shame
    I rise
    Up from a past that’s rooted in pain
    I rise
    I’m a black ocean, leaping and wide,
    Welling and swelling I bear in the tide.
    Leaving behind nights of terror and fear
    I rise
    Into a daybreak that’s wondrously clear
    I rise
    Bringing the gifts that my ancestors gave,
    I am the dream and the hope of the slave.
    I rise
    I rise
    I rise.”

This blog started with a poem about rising each time you fall. Unfortunately, the laureate who not only told us, but showed us how to rise each time, has fallen her final fall. Her life turned the adversity of poverty, abuse and destitution into an advantage of inspiration for generations to come.

Last April, Maya Angelou was interviewed by Oprah on her 70+ birthday. Oprah asked, what she thought of growing older and she replied…

  • "I’ve learned that no matter what happens, or how bad it seems today, life does go on, and it will be better tomorrow. I’ve learned that you can tell a lot about a person by the way he/she handles these three things: a rainy day, lost luggage, and tangled Christmas tree lights…I’ve learned that life sometimes gives you a second chance…I’ve learned that even when I have pains, I don’t have to be one…I’ve learned that I still have a lot to learn."
