The for most, the Academy Awards tonight will be the successful culmination of a life’s work and dreams, but I was particularly struck by last year’s acceptance by Matthew McConaughey’s of the award for Best Actor embracing failure in his own way…

  • “I had a very important person in my life come to me and say ‘Who’s your hero?’…I said, ‘I’ve thought about it and you know who it is?  It’s me in 10 years.  So I turned 25 (10 years later) and the same person comes to me and says ‘So are you a hero?’  I said, ‘I’m not even close.  No, no, no.’  She said, ‘Why’.  I said, ‘Because my hero is me at 35.’  So you see every day, every week, every month and every year of my life, my hero is always 10 years away.  I’m never going to be my hero.  I’m never going to attain that.  I know I’m not.  And I’m just fine with that because that keeps me with someone to keep on chasing.”

McConaughey’s anti-goal is very aligned to Scott Adam’s “System Principle” (eg. “goals are for losers”) and reminds me of a recent piece by Hugh McLeod…

  • “I spend a great deal of time every day, telling myself how much better I could be doing. In life, in relationships, in career, there’s no shortage of reasons to feel inadequate…It’s not all bad news. The good news is,this itch is also what keeps us moving forward.”

   

Gapingvoid - are we our potential

