• “Not only did Vince Gilligan’s five-season, hyper-violent prose poem to midlife male frustration tie up virtually every loose end in sight, it contained the Holy Grail of all storytelling: an Actual Moment of Truth. And not just this particular story’s truth, but one that extended to the beloved and bloated genre Gilligan both elevated and mocked. ‘I did it for me. I liked it. I was good at it. And I was really … I was alive.’ The strongest moments of the final season came as Walt realised that great truism so often underscored in stories like his: Once you introduce evil into your life, you cannot control it.” – Mary McNamara by LA Times

I always think that this lesson is one of the fundamental problems to what become “terrorist” organisations. Groups with well-intentioned grievances – IRA, PLO, etc – get frustrated by their lack of power and influence and turn to thuggery to enhance both. The problem is that when Good Friday Agreement or Camp David Peace Accords finally achieve some measure of progress, they can’t really put the evil scourge back in the bottle so easily.  The devil does not relinquish his Faustian Pact easily.

Kudos to Vince Gilligan for unflinchingly embracing the failures of life to depict a more honest and gripping story, but also to tell a more authentic morality play defining the limits of how far that embrace can and should extend.

