Dilbert - celebrating failures

   

  • “[A comic strip] has to be drawn well enough, not perfectly. No one goes to a rock concert because the band is in tune. They have to be close enough to not be distracting, but being in tune isn’t the point…As creators, our pursuit of perfection might be misguided, particularly if it comes at the expense of the things that matter.” – No one reads a comic strip because it’s drawn well

Happy Birthday Scott. Scott Adams doesn’t just write about embracing failure, but he walks the walk. The quote above embraces his failure to do award-winning drawing. He takes a similarly positive view about the “oops” that he makes regularly in his writing…

  • “I’m well-suited for drawing comics and writing blog posts because I can erase/delete/adjust a thousand times before the public sees it. I’d be bad at, for example, walking a tightrope across a canyon or doing brain surgery. Those professions don’t respond well to ‘oops.’ I use this blog to practice my writing, try different styles, float ideas, and generally get into the heads of the public. It’s a bad idea in my profession to assume I know what other people want to read. I can only know for sure what is in my own head. And as a general rule, the people who go into my line of work don’t think like normal citizens, for better or worse. So I take a business approach to writing; I test different styles and topics, observe the reactions, and adjust accordingly.” – About the Bear Thing
