It’s been some months since I entered my last blog.  That hiatus does not actually bother me.  I think one of the great things about blogging is its ability to be quite intermittent.  Half the time people find your blog because they have done an Internet search on a topic that you have blogged about and your entry comes up.  It comes up particularly high if you have successfully sparked enough interest for people to submit responses because those cross links to the blog moves the entry up in the search algorithms as likely to be an interesting search result.  So people find you when they need you; when they are interested in a subject you have covered.  The other half of the time people ‘subscribe’ to your blog because they are interested in the writer more than the particular subject of the day (though most writers, like myself, do tend to focus on certain subjects).  Intermittency is not problem here due to RSS feeds.  If people had to keep checking your blog to see if a new entry had been posted, after a few times of no change, people would get tired of trying and drift away (as so often happens with stale web content).

The primary reason for my gap has been my desire to expand my blog into a number of different focus areas while keeping it easy for different people to navigate around the different topics.  The ‘categorization’ capability of the new Community Server platform to differentiate the focus of my blog into categories I can show neatly on the left side bar.

 

I started blogging with The Spoke focusing on an area of daily interest from my professional life:  Business Value (see my 08-Feb-04 blog http://thespoke.net/blogs/brucely/archive/2004/02.aspx).  Since then, I have decided to add two more areas that are of more personal interest to me, but strongly draw on my experience as a senior manager at Microsoft.  So if you are interested in just one of these three areas, you can use the latest Category filter capability to set your RSS feed.

The two categories that I have added are:

  • Leadership versus Management:  Looking at the topic of the contrasts and complementarities between ‘leadership’ and ‘management’.
  • Embracing Failure:  Looking at the mostly personal development subject of turning adversity to advantage.

I look forward to our renewed conversations.